Baked Portobello Caps with Pesto and Bacon

Ok, I know this doesn’t look like the most appetizing thing in the world. But believe me, the combination of portobello caps, creamy pesto and smoky homemade bacon is uh-mazing.

Especially after being oven baked for 40 minutes.

Oh muh god.

You know how mushrooms kind of act like sponges, particularly with oil? Well when said oil is bacon fat they’re pretty unbeatable. That being said, I promise you will forgive the less-than-graceful aesthetic as soon as you try it.

If I were a bread-eater and had a well-stocked fridge I would throw this whole thing on a Kaiser roll, top it with cheese, a slice of tomato and fresh arugula and eat it as a burger. Nummers.

But I am not a bread-eater, nor did I have those other ingredients mentioned, so instead I cut this sloppy thing up into wedges and ate the entire thing while standing at my kitchen counter. Again, so glad I live alone.

And yes, I know that throwing bacon into every thing edible (or inedible – bacon bandaids…) is all the rage right now, but we all know it’s with very good reason. Short of using any absurd hyperbole (me, exaggerate? Never), bacon is one of the most wonderful things in the whole wide world. Especially homemade bacon. It’s my belief that after spending 5 years in the darkness of Vegetarianism in my teens, I owe it to myself to introduce bacon into as many meals as possible. This is just one more good way to bring the gospel of bacon into our lives and bellies. Enjoy!

Baked Portobello Caps with Pesto and Bacon

2 Portobello caps

1/2 C pesto (I used my radish top pesto, but any pesto will work!)

4-6 slices of bacon (homemade is the bomb…)

Balsamic vinegar

Sea salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Rinse the portobello caps, place in a baking dish and sprinkle with balsamic vinegar and a pinch of salt and pepper.

Slather pesto into each cap so there’s about a three-quarter inch layer in each one. Lay raw bacon slices across each, covering as much of the pesto surface as you can.

Bake caps in oven until the bacon is getting crispy around the edges, around 40 minutes.

Let cool slightly when out of the oven and eat as you please!

Leave a Reply

Quite Alone

"To awaken quite alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world" – Freya Stark

Heather & Fred's Excellent Adventure

Chronicling each step on our journey through South America, Asia and beyond...

maren ellingboe

recipe developer, stylist, content creator

Be kind. Tell the truth. Eat good food.

a blog about nourishment of all kinds

Paleo in PDX

Living, moving and eating well in Portland, Oregon

