Citrus Cilantro Jicama Salad

Getting from Santa Fe, NM to Rhinecliff, NY is not exactly an easy commute. A drive to Albuquerque to catch a 6:00 am flight to Dallas, to catch another flight to Newark to rent a car and drive two hours north to a tiny town on the banks of the Hudson River that my iThing miraculously found…that’s a long day. But when a best friend of very many years announced that she would be getting married in that tiny town at the end of June, I knew it was a long day that would be well worth it. I was not wrong.

I was only in New York for 3 days, but probably partied enough for at least a year. The damage done to my liver, stomach and nervous system (lovely combination of alcohol, cake, bologna sandwiches and 7 hours of sleep between 3 nights…) was completely balanced by the benefit to my heart, head and soul. Too many good friends in one place, an amazing wedding surrounded and created by some of the most creative and loving people I have met, music played by incredibly talented friends and no shortage of good food and drink. This is a recipe for goodness.

Returning from my whirlwind trip, I was still on an emotional high from the fun of the weekend, but my body reminded me how neglected it was. I hit the wall on Monday, slept a couple 13-hour nights to recover, and decided that a week of cleaner-than-normal eating was in order. On Wednesday I returned home from Whole Foods and found myself with a counter full of arugula, spinach, cilantro, coconut milk, carrots, wild sockeye salmon filets, local cherries, tahini, grapefruit, avocados, lemons, oranges, and a giant jicama. Just reading that list gets my digestive juices flowing. So many good things! I didn’t plan recipes for the week, so I got creative. My first project was a jicama salad – I revert back to one my mom makes that combines fresh orange slices and jicama in a perfectly refreshing combination. For this one, I added grapefruit as well and extra cilantro (I can never have enough cilantro – I eat it plain!). I only used half of the jicama for a large salad, so I used the trusty interwebs to find out what else people like to make with jicama. I was stunned! Jicama fries?! Jicama hasbrowns?! By god, it’s like another sweet potato! Instant fave. This morning I tried the jicama hashbrowns. Amazing. Recipe soon to follow. 🙂

With the rest of my grocery harvest I made sumac-crusted salmon filets, wilted spinach with cherries and balsamic onions, Ethiopian-spiced kale chips and raw chocolate cherry coconut pudding. Clean eating never tasted (or felt) so good! One day I will find a way to make bourbon make me feel that good…

 

Citrus Cilantro Jicama Salad

1/2 Large jicama, peeled and cut into large matchstick pieces

1/4 C Fresh cilantro, chopped

1 Orange, peeled, cut into half-wedges

1/2 Grapefruit, peeled, cut into half-wedges

Honey

Salt and pepper to taste

Chile powder

 

Combine jicama, grapefruit, orange and cilantro. Drizzle with honey, add a sprinkle of chile powder, season with salt and pepper to taste and mix well.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Quite Alone

"To awaken quite alone in a strange town is one of the pleasantest sensations in the world" – Freya Stark

Heather & Fred's Excellent Adventure

Chronicling each step on our journey through South America, Asia and beyond...

maren ellingboe

recipe developer, stylist, content creator

Be kind. Tell the truth. Eat good food.

a blog about nourishment of all kinds

Paleo in PDX

Living, moving and eating well in Portland, Oregon

